SIGN – Student Interest Group in Neurology

Officers

Co-Presidents Emma Leone & Jairo Hernandez
Co-Treasurers Brice Sewell
Faculty Advisor Miguel Chuquilin

Welcome to the Student Interest Group in Neurology!

“The brain is a monstrous, beautiful mess. Its billions of nerve cells-called neurons-lie in a tangled web that displays cognitive powers far exceeding any of the silicon machines we have built to mimic it.” – William F. Allman

The goal of SIGN is to provide a forum where anyone interested in the fascinating field of neurology can learn about the many amazing things involving our three-pound gem. The intent is to unite and educate students and those interested in the field of neurology through the utilization of research, publications, interviews, etc. As the founding father of neurosurgery Dr. Harvey Cushing stated, “A physician is obligated to consider more than a diseased organ, more even than the whole man – he must view the man in his world.” The aim is to establish a united community under the common goal of educating one’s self, not just in the fundamental field of neurology, but the essential effects it has on the patients we as students will inevitably be treating.

What is Neurology?

Neurology is a medical specialty treating disorders of the nervous system. To be specific, it involves the diagnosis and treatment of all categories of disease involving the central, peripheral, and autonomic nervous systems, including their coverings, blood vessels, and all effector tissue, such as muscle. The corresponding surgical specialty is neurosurgery. A neurologist is a physician specializing in neurology and trained to investigate, or diagnose, and treat neurological disorders. Neurologists may also be involved in clinical research and trials as well as basic and translational research. Neurology, as a branch of medicine, differs from neuroscience, which is the scientific study of the nervous system in all its aspects.

Neurology Residency & Fellowship

A residency in Neurology requires a preliminary training year in Internal Medicine as a PGY-1 followed by a three-year residency in Neurology. Some programs are combined with the PGY-1 year and others you must apply for separately.

Shadowing Opportunities

The following physicians have generously offered for students to shadow them in clinic and in the hospital. Shadowing provides a valuable opportunity to explore specialties hands-on, connect with future mentors, and participate in patient care.

The physicians listed below are not an exhaustive list. If you do not see a doctor or subspecialty you are interested in shadowing, or for general inquiries, contact Kelly Martin (Administrative Support Assistant) at kelly.martin@neurology.ufl.edu.

Faculty Name Contact Department
Addie Patterson addie.patterson@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Movement Disorders 

Associate Director Neurology Residency Program

Christina Wilson christina.wilson@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Vascular Neurology 

Interim Chief Vascular Neurology Division
Associate Chair of Education
Neurology Residency Program Director
Vascular Neurology Fellowship Program Director

Chris Robinson christopher.robinson@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Neurocritical Care 

Neuroscience Course Director UFCOM
Neurocritical Care Fellowship Program Director

Gabriel Bonnell gabriel.bonnell@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Vascular Neurology
Giridhar Kalamangalam giridhar.kalamangalam@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Epilepsy 

Division Chief of Epilepsy

Pouya Ameli pouya.ameli@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Neurocritical Care
Amita Singh amita.singh@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Vascular Neurology
Maria Bruzzone maria.bruzzonegiraldez@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Epilepsy
Miguel Chuquilin miguel.chuquilin@neurology.ufl.edu Department of Neurology – Neuromuscular Neurology 

Neurology Clerkship and Fellowship Director

Getting Involved with Research

For updates on current research and opportunities in the fields of neurology and neurosurgery, click 2021 Research Blitz Slides. Additional projects through the UF Medical Student Research Program can be found here: Neurology ProjectsNeurosurgery Projects. For more general information regarding getting involved in neurology and neurosurgery research with the University of Florida, click here.

Resources from the National MS Society

Other Resources