SSIG – Surgical Subspecialty Interest Group

Officers

Co-Presidents Morgan Cribbin & Clare Grady
Treasurer Jonathan Arias

Welcome to the Surgical Subspecialties Interest Group!

The Surgical Subspecialties Interest Group exists to educate medical students at the University of Florida College of Medicine about the field of surgery and its subspecialities, the lifestyle of surgeons and surgical residents, and the numerous opportunities available for those interested in surgery and its sub-specialties, and to facilitate as a go-between amongst medical students, faculty, and surgeons.

Surgical Residencies & Fellowships

Surgeons in the UF Department of Surgery specialize in:

  • General Surgery (GI, Cancer, Trauma and Burn)
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
  • Transplant Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Acute Care Surgery
  • Surgical Critical Care
  • Other UF surgical care: Neurosurgery, Urology, Gynecology, Orthopedics

Shadowing Opportunities

The following surgeons have expressed their willingness to participate in shadowing activities. They are grouped by specialty and hospital (VA or Shands). Each physician has also indicated their availability to be shadowed in the clinic, the OR, or both. Feel free to reach out to them by email to set up a shadowing experience. If there is a specialty that is not covered under this list, please reach out to us and we will do our best to find you a surgeon in that specialty.

UF Shands Hospital

Dr. Moiz Mustafa Pediatric Surgery OR/Clinic Moiz.Mustafa@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Saleem Islam Pediatric Surgery OR/Clinic Saleem.Islam@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Robin Petroze Pediatric Surgery OR/Clinic Robin.Petroze@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Shawn Larson Pediatric Surgery OR/Clinic Shawn.Larson@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Janice Taylor Pediatric Surgery OR/Clinic Janice.Taylor@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Steven Hughes Surgical Oncology OR Steven.Hughes@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Lisa Spiguel Breast Surgery OR/Clinic Lisa.Spiguel@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Christiana Shaw Surgical Oncology OR/Clinic Christiana.Shaw@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Javairiah Fatima Vascular Surgery OR/Clinic Javairiah.Fatima@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Dean Arnaoutakis Vascular Surgery OR/Clinic Dean.Arnaoutakis@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Thomas Huber Vascular Surgery OR/Clinic Thomas.Huber@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Mark Leyngold Plastic Surgery OR/Clinic Mark.Leyngold@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Trajan Cuellar Plastic Surgery OR/Clinic Trajan.Cuellar@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Jessica Ching Plastic Surgery OR/Clinic Jessica.Ching@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Thomas Read Colorectal Surgery OR Thomas.Read@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Sanda Tan Colorectal Surgery OR/Clinic Sanda.Tan@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Tomas Martin Cardiac Surgery OR/Clinic Tomas.Martin@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. George Arnaoutakis Cardiac Surgery OR/Clinic George.Arnaoutakis@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Mark Bleiweis Cardiac Surgery OR bleiweis@ufl.edu
Dr. Olusola Oduntan Thoracic Surgery OR/Clinic Olusola.Oduntan@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Tiago Machuca Thoracic Surgery OR/Clinic Tiago.NoguchiMachuca@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Mauricio Pipkin Thoracic Surgery OR/Clinic Mauricio.Pipkin@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Scott Brakenridge Trauma Surgery OR Scott.Brakenridge@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. R. Steven Smith Trauma Surgery OR/Clinic Robert.Smith@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Martin Rosenthal Trauma Surgery OR/Clinic Martin.Rosenthal@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Meir Meerkov Trauma Surgery OR/Clinic Meir.Meerkov@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. David Mozingo Burn Surgery OR David.Mozingo@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Ian Driscoll Burn Surgery OR/Clinic Ian.Driscoll@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Joshua Carson Burn Surgery Clinic Joshua.Carson@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Jeffrey Friedman MIS/Bariatric Surgery OR/Clinic Jeffrey.Friedman@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Alex Ayzengart MIS/Bariatric Surgery OR/Clinic Alexander.Ayzengart@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Crystal Johnson-Mann MIS/Bariatric Surgery OR/Clinic Crystal.Johnson-Mann@surgery.ufl.edu

VA Hospital

Dr. Salvatore Scali Vascular Surgery OR/Clinic Salvatore.Scali@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Kristina Giles Vascular Surgery OR/Clinic Kristina.Giles@surgery.ufl.edu
Dr. Lindsey Goldstein Colorectal Surgery OR/Clinic Lindsey.Goldstein@surgery.ufl.edu

Grand Rounds/Other Conferences

Grand Rounds are held on Fridays from 7:15-8am in HMEB 135. For more information, please contact: Adela Van Antwerp, (352) 265-0916; adela.vanantwerp@surgery.ufl.edu.

Morbidity & Mortality Conferences are held on Fridays from 6:45-7:15am in HMEB 135. For more information, please contact: Adela Van Antwerp, (352) 265-0916; adela.vanantwerp@surgery.ufl.edu.

Facebook Group

Other Resources